October 16, 2018

Louisiana Ambulance Alliance Honors Legislators of the Year

Baton Rouge, Louisiana (September 27, 2018) – Louisiana’s Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Providers, Louisiana Ambulance Alliance (LAA) Board of Directors, and a number of distinguished guests gathered in Bossier City for the LAA’s quarterly membership meeting, where Senator Ryan Gatti and State Representative Sam Jenkins, Jr. were awarded Legislators of the Year. 

The LAA whose mission is to promote, serve, improve, provide and advocate for emergency medical transportation in Louisiana recognized legislators who are committed to supporting EMS. “This award means so much,” said Senator Gatti. “Anytime we as legislators can step up to the plate with the hard-working folks in our community, it is a great thing and it is an honor and a privilege to be recognized by LAA.” 

Representative Jenkins was elated to be awarded by LAA. “EMS plays a role in making sure that when an emergency occurs they are on the scene and in some instances make the difference between life and death, alongside physicians and medical centers,” he said. In recognizing the need for EMS support, especially in rural areas, he added, “We certainly hope that there is sustainability and funding for EMS services throughout the state of Louisiana and more opportunities for citizens to enroll in programs to become EMS personnel.”

“Both Representative Jenkins and Senator Gatti have been active in assisting LAA with legislation that supports EMS, and both are committed to the EMS community,” added Donna Newchurch, LAA CEO. “Both recipients consistently advocate for EMS and recognize the value of supporting initiatives that impact the citizens of Louisiana.”

One of the highest honors ever given by LAA, the Legislator of the Year Awards are the first two in the organizations near 25-year history. For more information about the Louisiana Ambulance Alliance, visit louisianaambulancealliance.org.